1. Themes
  2. A to Z

Australian Catholic University

The Australian Catholic University (ACU) St Patrick's Campus, which opened in Victoria Parade, Fitzroy, in February 2000, builds on a tradition of tertiary Catholic education in Australia. Teacher education colleges founded by the Sisters of Mercy in Ascot Vale in 1909 and by the Archdiocese in Oakleigh in 1967 joined with Aquinas College in Ballarat in 1974 to become the Institute of Catholic Education within the State College of Victoria. Under this new umbrella course offerings were expanded, a process which continued when, in 1990, the Institute joined with similar colleges in Sydney, Brisbane and Canberra to form ACU. A public university open to all, ACU offers courses in arts, business, education, human movement, information systems, music, nursing, social science and theology.

Shurlee Swain

Kenny, Joan M., Prologue to the future: Christ College: the foundation and early development of Australian Catholic University's Christ Campus 1967-1990, David Lovell Publishing, Melbourne, 1996. Details