1. Themes
  2. A to Z

Kooyong Tennis Stadium

The focus of Australian tennis for many years, Kooyong Lawn Tennis Club's 20 lawn courts, clubhouse and concrete stadium were first used for the Australian championship in 1927. After World War II it was the venue for seven Davis Cup Challenge Rounds, the most famous of which was in1953 when Australian teenagers Lew Hoad and Ken Rosewall defeated the Americans Tony Trabert and Vic Seixas. Kooyong's last Challenge Round was in 1986, after which the national titles were played at the new Melbourne Park.

Brian Carroll