1. Themes
  2. A to Z


After Separation was proclaimed on 1 July 1851, the Port Phillip District of New South Wales - in its foundation and early settlement years governed from Sydney - became the Crown Colony of Victoria, named for the reigning British queen and with Melbourne as its legislative capital. The first Parliament of Victoria was formally opened on 25 November 1856, before which Victoria was governed from a single-chamber Legislative Council that met in St Patrick's Hall.

Andrew May